It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: So Fortunate!!
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:14 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I am brand new to Suboxone treatment and this whole process. I live in a small town in North Carolina, sandwiched between larger towns and cities. I am also familiar not only with opiod dependency but addiction. I was an addicict with other type abuses before I developed a staph infection in my spine and got to experience what sever physical pain was all about. After being hospitalized for months and being on high doses of pain relieving narcotics for the better part of a year, I developed an opiod dependency. Sad to say when the narcotics were taken away because I was "better", the withdrawl was more than I could take so I turned to the illegal side, using street drugs to no avail. My experience with other doctors, being honest about past addiction issues, I got to experience first hand a whole type of discrimination that left me feeling like I wasn't even human. Being afraid to go the suboxone route, I went out on a limb of faith, I must say for me this is the best decision I could have made. Simply because the illegal side of this eventualy would have left me for dead or locked up. I researched suboxone via the internet, found a doctor, saved the money, made an appointment and so on. From the beginning, which has only been two and a half weeks now, my experience has been nothing but positive. My doctor treats me like I am human, and seems to have his act together. After reading in some of these post about the trials some of you are and have gone thru, I am truly fortunate. As soon as I got on the medicine I started to stabalize. I reached out the same day as my doctors appointment to the Here to Help program from the suboxone manufacturer, with my doctors help now I get my medicine free for a year. All this within the first week of getting my script. I did have some issues