It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:46 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I am new to this, so please be patient with me.

I started drinking poppy tea when I was 19 to help with the anxiety and depression brought on by my parents' divorce. Fortunately, I didn't sustain this habit for more than 4 months. Like many of my peers, I experimented with alcohol, cocaine, and pot while in college. After seeing a severe drop in my grades (C's, D's, and F's), I quit all three cold turkey and made a commitment to myself that I would not accept anything less than straight A grades. I was able to keep this promise until my final semester when I discovered percocet.

I was 21 at the time. I would like to say that I used it for pain management at first, but unfortunately, that simply isn't true. I used it because when I took it I became the relaxed, happy, and emotionally satiated person I wanted to be. (During this time I was also in a very difficult co-dependent relationship which was emotionally exhausting.) I managed to graduate with a 3.76 GPA, despite breaking my promise to myself and receiving my first B grades in three years. I blamed senioritis, but in reality, my despondency was caused more by the brain numbing I was exacting with the percocet than anything else. During the early phase of my pill habit, I had a few friends who knew about my use...when they expressed concern I responded not by quitting, but by going underground.

I am now almost 26 and pills rule my life. I have never been caught, either by the law or friends/family.