It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:07 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:40 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello! This is my first time ever writing in a blog. I decided it would be beneficial to share my story, since I have been helped by so many of yours. I am very grateful for those of you who have courage to share your addiction journeys with others. I started using heroin when I was 17 years old (30 now). It was the worst time of my life. My mom discovered all the paraphernalia in my room and confronted me. My father was living abroad at the time, so he decided to take me with him. That changed my life forever. After a while of living with him, I discovered Vicodin and Norco. I got hooked again and transitioned to Oxy. After several years, I was tired of all the sadness and hopelessness in my life. I lost jobs, family relationships and decided to visit a doctor to RX Suboxone. It was extremely difficult to transition to the new medicine, but it gave me my life back. I have been on the subs for two years now and I am tapering down. I started at 24mg a day and now I am taking 1/4 of a 2mg strip a day. Now, this has been tough, but not intolerable like when I was withdrawing from the heroin. Usually at night, when I get home from work is when I feel really bad and I take a really hot bath. I usually take the 1/4 in the middle of the night when I wake up from a weird itchy feeling in my stomach and restlessness. I have been wanting to quit the subs for a while, but my doctor wanted me to have a safety net of support before. I now have a really awesome job helping others, I am married, I want to get pregnant soon and I have an awesome therapist. When I am feeling sick, I think of the times when I used and hurt so many people. That gives me courage to continue and the hot baths help SO MUCH! I am on this journey for life. The illness of addiction is part of my life, I need to be disciplined and manage it. One thing is,