It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:36 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

A bit of background: I was addicted to opiates for 15 years. I'm a veteran so had the VA as support. They put me on Suboxone, which was extraordinarily helpful. When I decided, with the counsel of the Psychiatrist, to ramp down from Opiate Replacement Therapy, we cut back from 8mg/day to 4mg over two months then down to 2mg over another two months, (thinking "Hey! This is EASY!).

So, I was down to 1mg/day and went to .5mg for a week then zero. After 20 years of my opiate receptors being bombarded by the daily "fix", even coming off a HALF mg of Suboxone was TOUGH. And some of the symptoms were totally unanticipated!

I expected diarrhea, I expected cold sweats, restless legs, and Heebie-Jeebies. After they were past however, then came something I did NOT expect: the incredible FATIGUE that arrived AFTER the other symptoms were over by two weeks.

It has been a month since I weaned off Suboxone and while I am feeling a BIT better and have more energy, it's only 20% of baseline. And THAT'S what will keep me from ever use opiates again. I am still waiting for my brain's opiate receptors to heal. This is a long, loooong journey off opiates of ANY stripe. I recommend opiate replacement therapy but my recommendation: allow yourselves a full MONTH to get through the vestiges of withdrawals. It is NOT easy and will have you second-guessing yourselves about getting off Suboxone. But clean is better than altering your brain chemistry continually.

Still tired. Another week to go to clock 35 days. Hoping that will mark the end of all symptoms.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 12:19 pm 
3 Months or More
3 Months or More