It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 8:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: So far - So good
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:31 pm 
Hello all! I am new to this (sub and the forum) so please be patient with me as I begin to share. I have been reading a lot on this site for about a week now and it seems wonderful! Dr. Junig's story is inspirational and his opinions and comments seem right on. I'll be as brief as I can regarding my history. I am in my mid-forties. No history of alcohol or drug abuse my entire life until my "trigger" was "tripped" by hydrocodone about 4-5 years ago following a minor back/sciatic nerve pain issue. Slipped into my addiction gradually at first - the usual tolerance building deal, liking the meds even when the "pain" was gone. You all know the drill! Started by taking 1/2 of a 5mg Lortab and feeling fabulous on it for hours and hours, ended up swallowing 6 10mg at a time topped off with a couple of Somas and felt great for a only a few hours, and repeat..... You all know the way it goes! For me, however, it did not stop there. I was a Registered Nurse (18 years of solid, top performance experience in a specialized field). Actually highly regarded not only by my peers, but by the physicians I worked with all through the years. Never even so much as a "write up" of any kind by patients, peers or physicians. Anyhow, forgive that brief boast (it's all I've got left after the guilt, shame, remorse and self-battering I have done over the past 10 months or so). After 3 years or so of abusing pills, all the while working 12 hour night shifts on a busy and stressful unit, maintining a marriage, family, household, life in general, I made the monumentally stupid decision to try using some "bigger gun" drugs obtained at work. I never withheld meds from patients, "just" used wasted drugs at first, eventually becoming so sick that I just took my drugs of choice right out of the hospital stock supply, which of course pretty q