It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 12:43 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I was a college student at University of California, Santa Barbara when I became addicted to opiates. I was studying pharmacy and biology, and was in my second year of school when I began using hydrocodone (Norcos) heavily and regularly. I had already been using cocaine and ecstasy frequently, and smoking pot daily, and had experimented with almost every type of psychoactive drug around - including opiates, which always held a special place in my heart, ever since the first time I popped a Percocet at age 16.

I already had plenty of experience using drugs to excess, especially amphetamines in the form of Adderall, and cocaine. As soon as I had the opportunity to begin buying large amounts of opiates regularly, I took it. The addiction crept up on me almost imperceptibly - I went for months and months, taking 200-300 mg hydrocodone daily, before the day came when my supply ran dry and I got a little taste of whet it felt like to be dopesick. I remember that day very well - I had suddenly been forced to accept the gravity of my situation. I remember being terrified at the realization that I was a full-blown addict and that this wasn't going to be easy to stop. I couldn't believe how terrible I felt.

Naturally, my schoolwork had taken a backseat as my drug addiction progressed, and I had been regularly failing and repeating classes. I was always a very good student and my family and friends started wondering what was going on with me. Meanwhile, my cocaine addiction had steadily progressed and I got to the point where I was snorting around a gram a day while maintaining a 30-a-day Norco habit, and had begun taking 50-60 mg diazepam to get me to sleep at night and accentuate the opiate buzz.