It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Eve's story
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:41 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi all. I found this forum while looking for information on suboxone. I have been battling an opiate addiction for more than 15 years. I was actually off everything for about 6 years, felt good for a long time. Somehow I forgot to do the things that I need to do to manage my stress level and participate in a recovery program. I think that after being "clean" for so long I thought I was some kind of exception to the rule and did not need any more recovery stuff. I know we all think we are so unique and the general rules certainly do not apply to us.

I put a lot of my history in a reply to a post on here a minute ago. I will give the short version of the long story to avoid repeating the same information over and over again. I went through the course of becoming addicted to opiate pain relievers several years ago. I finally ended up on methadone for a year. I decided that I wanted off the methadone and quit cold turkey (from 80-160 mg/day). I detoxed at home under the care of a physician with the help of ativan and clonidine. The detox without weaning down the dose was an absolutely horrible experience. I swore I would never use again because I did not want to put myself through something like that EVER again. I