It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:32 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I'm new to all these forums and tried to post this earlier, so if it is a repeat, I apologize. I'm curious about something. A little background - I went to a drug treatment facility in August last year for opioid dependence where I began on Suboxone. Upon discharge I was set up with a sub doctor who is contracted with my insurance company. At the first visit I paid several hundred dollars along with what the ins co paid. At visits 2 and 3 I was told they were still working on what I need to pay and would let me know later. I called the ins co myself and was told that even though this is a 'specialty' program, he is still contracted for a specific amount per visit and I am to pay just the $20 copay. This is what I did for visit 4 and 5, although different office personnel were telling me different things. Anyway, visit 6 comes along and I am expected to pay several hundred dollars, part of which is "past due" from previous visits. I said I would have to make arrangements as I did not have that much money at that time. Visit 7 comes around.... My appointment was cancelled by the receptionist because of my balance. I asked if the doctor could call me in a tapering dose because I would be unable to afford these monthly rates. Also told her what the insurance company said, and I spoke to them several times. She said my appt would be cancelled and the doctor will not be calling in or prescribing any further meds until my balance is paid in full. Another interesting point here is that my husband (separated) sees the same doctor, for the same thing, has the exact same insurance policy, and never pays a dime - not even a copay. I feel this doctor treated me very unethically, causing severe unanticipated withdrawals, a very big temptation to relapse, I even lost my job because I was out sick and didn't have a doctor's note.