It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: An EMT's Story. (Long)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 3:31 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

As my username says, My name is Steven and I'm an EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) and this is my story.

My addiction story begins when I was 19'ish. I was dating a girl whom later I realized was a hypochondriac. She was in and out of the hospital constantly. She had boxes of medications.
One day I was suffering pretty severe lower back pain and she offered me a pill.
I asked "What is it?" and she replied "Vicodin". I told her I've had Vicodin before and it doesn't work. (I couldn't see why people liked it so much). She insisted I take it, said "It will help... trust me"; so I took the one Vicodin and she jumped in the shower.
About 20 minutes later, I was lying in bed (because I was in so much pain) and all of a sudden I felt the sudden rush of euphoria race through my body! I was in heaven! I thought, oh my god, this stuff is amazing!!
Over the next few weeks and months I steadily began taking more and more everyday! Like I said, she had boxes of pills and I had what seemed like an endless supply of pills.

After a few years, we were working together in hitting up Emergency Rooms, Urgent Care Centers and regular Doctor appointments with fake aliments; putting on big acting shows about how we got hurt just to collect more drugs.

Eventually I broke up with her but my addiction stayed with me.
I continued to fake injuries to Doctors for quite some time.

One day, I went into my neighbors house who was not at home at the time; (they were a very close family friend, we were granted access to their home anytime) . I went in with the intent to steal some of her pain pills because I was going through severe withdrawals; and I did.