It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 12:36 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Dreams of shame
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:27 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have read a couple of posts that talks about guilt and shame and its helps me feel like I am not alone. I just started suboxone last Friday and its been great(minus the guilt and depression). Every night, I have dreams about the horrible things I did to get pills. I was a home health nurse and I stole a few here and there from my patients, until I got caught. All my life I thought stealing and lying were horrible and , although I never considered myself perfect, I considered myself an honest person. My addiction took the better part of me and I felt like I needed to steel pills to survive. I began to rationalize me stealing and eventually became numb to it. After getting caught thus admitting that I had a Lotab addiction, I cannot seem to get past the shame of what I did. I constantly plague myself with questions like: What are people saying about me? What if when my son grows up and someone tells him? What if I run into the patients I stole from? Who would ever marry an addict who stole from her patients? I, constantly, beat myself over the head with these questions:(. Does anyone have any suggestions or inspirational thoughts that will help me give myself a break. I feel like that overcoming my addiction is not as hard as overcoming the shame of what I did. I live in a paralyzed state of fear. I have nightmares , just about every night, about where I used to work and my patients.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:28 pm 
One Month or More
One Month or More