It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:15 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

Hey everyone! I am down to .0625 twice a day and even though there have been some sleepless nights, restless legs, back pain, difficulty in regulating my body temperature so i go from freeezing to sweating profusely all day, and sneezing like 100 times per day, I'm here to tell you that you're not doing to die. I was on 24mg of sub for 5 years and I've been tapering steadily for the last 2+ years. I took my time, yes. And sometims I went too fast before my body could stabilize at each level. I basically did 24-16-12-8-6-5-4-3-2-1-.75-.5-.25-.125. Like three months ago I was still on 3mg a day and now I'm down to .125. I can honestly say it has not been easy and my brain and body are struggling to adjust to being on close to no opiates for the first time in about a decade and a half. (I used heroin for 5 years and then got on subs). My ultimate goal is to be off and maybe face the fact that I will experience some PAWS, but i know that the worst of this ride is over. Being a counselor, I feel like its important for me to continue my journey of recovery at my own pace and to not let others influence my tapering, etc. lots of friends have said "oh my gosh you've been tapering FOREVER! Just stop taking it already." I get the fact that one of my good friends tells me that I'm just teasing my body at this point, and prolonging the crappy feelings, but I want to go slow, make sure I'm stable at each dose, and keep going so when I'm done, I'm really done and I don't need to go back on. I have some realistic fears however, as I am having a major surgery in the next year or so, and the surgeon has already told me that phentanyl and dilaudid and Percs are a definite. I guess I'll just cross that bridge when I come to it.