It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Dosing times?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:41 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi all, I just started suboxone today. Took 6 mg at like 5 pm. MY question is this.
I know when I wake up to take my 4 mg's(even tho the dr put me on 8mg twice a day).
So when should I take the other 4 mg's? Like 3pm 5pm or before bed?

Thanks and glad to see this forum. I think we all have alot to say with so one to say it to. So this is a great discovery!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:50 am 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hi betterfomyson -

First off, let me say that I am no doctor.

So, I can tell you what many of us here have determined, but not everyone - everyone is different (chronic pain, etc.)

If possible, most of us take our suboxone sublingually - with some type of method for maximal absorption - once a day. I started out 3 x a day.

After spending some time researching buprenorphine, I found out it has a 37 hour half life. So, multiple times a day - seems less important than your comfort. Chronic Pain patients often dose multiple times a day to 'top off.'

Others of us who are trying to break bad habits, and thinking - have moved to once a day - and get on with our lives. The notion with this, is to break our psychological hold on ourselves for looking for pills or a fix every 4 hours.

It was NOT easy for me, so that told me that I really needed to break my psychological cycle. I did not feel better or worse, I just found my brain looking for 'something' every evening - and by breaking the mold with suboxone's long half life, I have been able to break that thinking cycle.

Again, I don't think there is a one size fits all. If you are recovering from dependency, like me - no underlying condition - I would suggest trying once a day and see if you find some freedom. If you have Chronic Pain, I would stick with your doctor's schedule.