It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:29 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hey all. Wonder if I could get some feedback on some dosing and other issues that I am dealing with.

My doctor has had me on a daily dose of 6-12mg of Suboxone film for 5 months now; he lets me dose at my discretion and suggests dosing every 8 hours. Being an addict, I originally started at 12 mg. I had been using poppy tea for several months and really did not need a lot for withdrawal, but I felt good on 12 mg with no craving. I have had constant relapses for the past 8 years- Oxycontin and other pills mostly.

When I started doing some reading and found out how hard it can be to quit Suboxone, I weaned myself down to 3 mg. At that dose I felt like I was always looking at the clock, waiting for the next dose. I was also craving, so I went ahead and made the decision to use the prescribed dose and get off the fence about it. I was able to squirrel away a good supply of sub during my low dosing, which alleviated my fears of some event occurring such that I would run out and have to withdraw cold turkey.