It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 10:56 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

***after typing for an hour about my entire situation and then accidentally hitting the ESC button and erasing everything I will shorten my story a bit***

I am new to this forum, but I have found my first bit of encouragement reading the entries here. Every other site I have read only have entries of people suffering 3-6 months off with no end in site. Now on to my situation...

I have been taking pain meds since 2003. Staring on vicidon, then perks and then the mighty OC's in 2005. By the end of 2006 I was taking OC's every day before work and all through the week. I would rationalize my usage by telling myslef "I am a sucessful professional, with a home, wife and childen." What a dilussion that was and by 2006 I went to a doctor and got subs. I stayed on the subs until 2008 until friends I used to party with moved back to my area and my addiciton started all over again. In 2010 my wife was tired of me being high all the time and I went back on the subs. I have been clean of pain meds since and this last month have finally gotten fed up of being dependent on a pill.

I told my Doctor I wanted off, which he discouraged, but agreed and gave me his version of a detox schedule. Which was 2mgs for three days, then 1 mg for three days and then take the plunge. I had already went from 4mg to 2mg for a few weeks prior to this visit. So I dropped to 1mg for a week and then with three days off from work took the plunge. Now my doctor told me three days I would feel bad but not to bad to go to work. Boy was he misinformed. I cant tell if these doctors just do not know anything about the drug or if they take the word of the drug sales rep. This was my break down: