It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:45 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello i'm new to this blog so please bear with me. I am about to see a doctor about suboxone treatment thursday. I have been on and off opiates for about 10 years,been on methadone, cold turkied, now back on the junk again for the past 9 months. I can deal with the physical withdraw but my mind plays tricks on me and makes me do the junk. just can't quit. I don't want to go back on methadone because I think it's worse(is it?) so I'm willing to try suboxone. I know I will be on it for a while and it's better than buying dope all the time!
What can I expect? How much is good for a first dose? Is the sickness of suboxone worse than sniffing heroin? Is there a generic form of suboxone? Is there anything I should really know about this stuff? If anyone has some helpfull answers please let me know.
Today was my last bag of dope I hope(wow that rhymes!) I was told that I should be detoxing when I see the doctor. Can't wait till thursday!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:20 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Welcome Joey -

Congratulations on your decision to get clean. You have already lived through so much withdrawal in your current situation, that I suspect suboxone will be terrific for you.

If you have the ability, google for suboxdoc on youtube. Great information from him.

In short, suboxone will not give you a 'buzz' or the warm fuzzy feeling you get with other opiates (like Heroin, etc.).

Personally, I believe that suboxone treatment is a great idea.

Yes, you are right about being in mild/moderate withdrawal before you start suboxone. Understand that you will feel 'normal' when you are at the right dose.

The doctor/treatment center will help you with how to take the medication (under the tongue).