It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:50 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Diversion stat
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:31 am 
Super Poster
Super Poster

I finished Dr Junig's book (excellent and highly recommended and on kindle!). Now I'm reading one by James Schaller and in it is this statistic: ". . . DEA reports 90% of diverted street pain medications come from sources other than physician prescriptions e.g, pharmacy theft."
Well, I'll be damned. I'm sure most of you already knew this, but I'm new to the whole addiction education thing. This blew me away.

So, this begs the question- why are physicians having to jump through ridiculous hoops to adequately treat true pain patients? Sounds to me like focus should be on other sources" and the fox in the henhouse.

Post subject: Re: Diversion stat
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 2:16 pm 

So where does it say they come from? I'm guessing that kids/relatives steal them from their parents/relatives. Unless that counts as a physician script.

Care to clarify?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:48 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster

Well, that's kind of my question. The author alluded to the fact that pharmacies were the major source. Which means techs and pharmacists I assume?

Our Sponsors
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:50 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster

Or pharmacy "hold ups" maybe? Factory theft? Mail theft?
I mean how many other access points are there besides prescription?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 5:29 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Dr J's book is a must read imo...so much good in there.
also, in the 5 years i was a pillhead, all of my drugs came from people who sold there own scrips. I was amazed i found so many. It was like clockwork all month loug....man, glad thats over.
Same with Subs on the street. At least in my town..
my 2 cents...raz.....

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:35 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member