It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: dentists....
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:34 pm 
Super-Duper Poster
Super-Duper Poster

Wow, I haven't felt like a low class addict in a long time...until today when I went to the dentist. I have an tooth abscess that I have been treating myself with antibiotics and huge amounts of ibuprofen...last month I was able to decrease the abcess and the pain was covered by Aleve, but now? It's really bad. So I started another course of antibiotics and called a dentist.
I got an appt today and he took xrays...and its a mess...2 different abscesses...and I knew it wouldn't be pretty....I can't afford a root canal and to try to save the tooth but he said it was not worth putting money into this tooth for various reasons. On top of this I had talked to the office manager and also explained that I would like to utilize one of their payment plans.

Well, I attempted to talk to the dentist about Sub. I realize sometimes people just don't need to know about this...but I have no idea what this whole thing is going to end up being...pain wise. So I was honest on the history form that I am on Sub and told him of my history addicted to opiates and how long I'd been in recovery. Seriously, the whole conversation was way over his head. I was prepared, had called my sub dr and told him what was going on, and copied a simple form from the forum to help him understand Sub and how to rx pain meds if I would need them. Right now the pain is so bad that I'm really nervous about how this is going to end up. My right side of my face is swollen, I have referred pain everywhere...and now am a little scared after seeing the xrays.