It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:55 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Day 5 Cold Turkey
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:09 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello Everyone,

I decided over a month ago that I needed to quit taking my prescribed 2x8mg/day dose of Suboxone as the side effects were becoming a lot worse than the results.

Background:

By the time I induced on Suboxone I had been on a 10-14 tab a day Norco habit for roughly 2 years. I have/had a rare case of Irritable Bowel Syndrome that was triggered by stress and caused me to go to the bathroom sometimes up to 40 times daily. I'm also a Truck Driver and when you are 100 miles from a bathroom the stress level goes up and up. This caused all of the plumbing and valves down there to be constantly inflamed and hemorrhoid's. I have had 2 hemorrhoidectomy's and 1 banding procedure done one the last 22 months with little relief and because those surgeries were so painful and my tolerence to the meds so high, I was taking mountains of narcotics with poor results.

Last May, I went to a pain management center and all they did was give me more stronger medication (6 Norco/day and 75mgh Fentanyl patch) and charged me 1000's on drug tests. I did that for 2 months but in the second month I blew through my entire month of Norco in 12 days and was too embarrassed to go back to the pain management clinic. So there I was, without drugs riding out the withdrawals with nothing more than Ambien and Ibuprofen.

After 2 weeks of intense withdrawals and mutant restless leg syndrome I finally relented and went to a different pain management clinic for help. They advised me that I take Suboxone, but before that could happen I needed to see their in house therapist and all the approvals needed to be secured from my insurance company.