It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:40 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi Guys, thought it was time to come back here and hopefully give some support to people who are going through the initial hell of sub withdrawal. Have posted a few times already, asked advice and had some great support from you guys (thanks) which to be honest was a lifesaver as I didn't think I could do it without some sort of help.

I jumped off 4mg daily after basically 5 years on 8 mg + the odd relapse, so a pretty high dose. the first 2 months were probably the hardest, most lonely time of my life, having decided to take the offer by my family to house sit in there holiday home, so moved to another city by myself.

I work as a freelance web designer so thinking would stay here and just work from their home and kick this bloody opioid addiction once and for all without anybody having to know, especially my family who thought I kicked it 2 years ago..

I was thinking 1 - 2 weeks of pain and it would all be over, and I could get back to normal life, but it was 2 months of severe flu like symptoms, constant runs, no more then 2 hrs sleep a night, crazy anxiety, suicidal thoughts, and the worst by far, no energy, no motivation, and total isolation. Going to the shops for food once a week was like going to the moon, a total mission.

It was hell and reading people on this forum saying it takes up to a year to feel okay again really scared the shit out of me, 10 more months of that hell I just couldn't do, better just to give up and go back on subs or worse back to using.I couldn't concentrate at all and couldn't be bothered even working to support myself, web design is pretty tech and I honestly couldnt think clearly enough to even start again, it was that bad, I just lived on my CC and didnt care about anything anymore. scary stuff with no way out, Id basically given up on life ( no seritonan me thinks )