It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: I'm confused!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:29 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Okay, maybe because I’m kind of new to all this, there are things I just don’t get.

I went to my second sub doctor appointment this past week. I expressed to him that if it were my choice, I would not want to stay on subs overly long, but that I was in counseling with a chemical dependency therapist, intended to stay in therapy (heck, I’ll be going for at least 30 visits, plus NA, as opposed to the medical group's requirement of one individual and six group sessions) and I also knew that I couldn’t simply go back to the way things used to be.

Predictably, he pretty much leapt on that one and was kind of terse: “We can’t know whether it will be three months, or six months, or a year, or more…it takes however long it takes. You’re no different from any other addict.”

Well, (she thought to herself) I never said I was. We all have traits in common, ergo, Addictionology. DUH. But I object to the one-size-fits-all approach, too.

Then he said, “It took you a long time to upend your life, and it’ll take a long time to put it back together again.”

“Uh, Dr. X, what is your understanding of how long I’ve been actively misusing?”

“Let’s see…um…in my notes it says something about 20 or 30 years ago…”

“Actually, no…there were a few months in the summer when I used on a limited basis, but the crap didn’t really hit the fan and I didn’t fully “cross over” until this past November. Actually, I was quite functional during that time, and our lives weren’t upended at all.” (I actually asked Hubby about this later and he confirmed it.)