It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:15 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello,

I would like to ask the advice of forum users regarding my current situation but before I do I would first like to thank all those posting for their time and effort as many of my questions have been answered by reading your posts and replies.

I am a 35 year old male currently residing in the UK. I have been a drug addict since I was a teenager and have experimented using all drugs with opiates being my drug of choice. This is my first time on Suboxone but I am no stranger to buprenorphine. I also spent a short period on Naltrexone in my mid 20’s.

I had a period of 5years of complete abstinence and was actively involved with NA and the 12 steps. I did not discover this method until 2005 when I was 29. I went to residential treatment centre and completed yet another rattle/withdrawl (I have done numerous cold turkeys from herion, DHC and one from Methadone). Coming from a rural area of Scotland I had no knowledge of recovery etc so when leaving residential treatment after 6 months I opted to live in Glasgow. This was in order to attend meetings, maintain recovery and enter full time education.

After completing my degree last summer I relapsed. There are numerous reasons why but at the top of the pile is that I believed within myself I had matured and after 5 years of ‘normal’ living I decided I deserved a wee drink and you know the rest of the story….. I ended up back on the Devils dandruff, sticking needles in places I said I never would and displaying the behaviour I had before, perhaps even worse :!: :oops: