It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Ceiling??
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:04 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I'm pretty new to suboxone. My Dr started me at 8mg 2 x's a day. I find myself still craving esp in the evenings. I have an appt. tomorrow and I'm of course going to be honest with my Dr but not all Dr's know what's best. I trust the people here on this site to give the best advise bent that everyone one on here is and has been on subs for a while. Thank you everyone for your input!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 3:37 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi Gennay,

After reading your other post it seems that you have only been in treatment about a week. I would give yourself a few more weeks to get adjusted completely to the suboxone. The cravings at this point are mental, you should be well above the ceiling at 16mgs per day. Personally, I wouldn't go any higher.

At this point you are still having the urge to use out of habit. I know that doesn't make it better, but it does get easier. Try to stay positive and focus on the good things that are coming out of your treatment. I know some people say that suboxone takes away all their cravings, but it didn't for me. It takes a little while to break that cycle of addictive thinking, just stick with it and stay strong. It is worth it! And, it's good practice for when you will eventually taper off the suboxone. Dealing with the cravings now will prepare you for when you don't have that little security net.

Good luck!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 6:46 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member