It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

do you think you will need suboxone for the rest of your life?
yes 42%  42%  [ 19 ]
no 33%  33%  [ 15 ]
do not know 24%  24%  [ 11 ]
Total votes : 45
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:26 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello,
I am very new to suboxone (only been a patient for about 2 months now) so a lot of you are probably going to say that has a lot to do with this question... However I am not new to opiate addiction and I am not new to my self and my addiction.

I will try Not to go into a lot of detail, but here's a little background: I was a full blown opiate addict for 10+ years (pain pills, oxys, poppy tea, heroin, you name it)

Opiate addiction led me to doing almost 4 years in prison for ... yeah you guessed it (burglarizing a pharmacy) now keep in mind before this, I had never spent a day in jail, this is what addiction led me to,

When I got out of prison I tried so hard not to use because I am on parole, I love my kids and I want to stay home. I had one incident (a injury, a er visit, and a script of vicodin) that led to a relapse.

I immediately reached out for help, got into treatment , therapy- group sessions twice a week and suboxone treatment (20mg daily)

Suboxone is a miracle for me. I used to obsess about opiates all day every day even when I was completely sober.
Suboxone has completely changed my life, my life style and my relationships, people are saying I am doing better than ever. They cant beilive it.

Suboxone, fills that emptiness inside of me that craves getting high, and not just opiates either I am a bad alcoholic and have had no cravings for alcohol since I started suboxone. My so called mental illness symptoms have gone away, I am no longer depressed, angry or lazy, I have since enrolled in college, I am constantly working on my self, my family and doing positive things. It is like I am reborn and it is truly a complete transformation.