It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:00 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have 1st appointment tomorrow. I havent taken anything in 7days. But I what I used to take fluctuate between 60-250mg of percocet. I went though severe withdrawals for 3 or 4 days. I'm thinking since Im not in severe withdrawals I wont be prescribed what I need to stay off the opiates. What determines what I am prescribed? Drug test? Physical appearance or symptoms? What to expect?

Thanks in advance. Mike

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:07 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hey Mike -

When it comes to withdrawal symptoms, I don't think you will get a blood test.. I am not a doctor.

You can search the net for COWS (not the animals). Here is a line from the NCBI:

"The clinical opiate withdrawal scale (COWS) is a clinician-administered, pen and paper instrument that rates eleven common opiate withdrawal signs or symptoms."

Are you going to a doctor who is authorized to prescribe Suboxone? If that is the case, you may be prescribed that medication to help with the withdrawal symptoms. Again, it all depends on where you are going, and what the goal is in mind.

Most of us here - obviously - went to a doctor (most of us anyway) - searching for a way to help with the addiction/dependency of opiates. Most of us did not wait as long as you did! 24 hours for most of us, then the Suboxone returned us to 'normal' no high, etc.

Let us know how you do at the doctors. If you are heading to a pain clinic type doctor- or someone who is suboxone authorized and can prescribe for you, then here is what I experienced (hopefully the same for you)

1- Professional help
2- The doctor will visit with you and ensure you are being honest
3- Probably explain that Suboxone is not the cure, rather one tool in the fight of addiction/dependency.