It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:01 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

There is so much stigma with buprenorphine that has contributed to the views of society about this drug. I have 25 years of experience with opiate addiction. I was on methadone for 5 years. My whole family can attest to the fact that during this time that drive to chase the dragon was still active in me. I was still wanting more and more. When it comes to detoxing from this drug I couldn't find anywhere that would take me cause it was methadone. I finally found a place that was 8 hours away from me. I went there. I can not express enough how different and severe methadone withdrawals are compared to all other opiates. I had a stroke and had to have physical therapy to learn how to use my right arm again. It was a living nightmare in hell. It took 4 months of inpatient treatment including ICU to get me stable enough to come home. For someone like me that has been an addict for 25 years there are other contributing factors that must be considered in my treatment. There's more irreversible damage that needs to be considered. Plus I became an addict as a result of prescribed opiates given to me by a doctor due to over 10 surgeries I had from the time I was 13 until 19. These were during a time when my brain was still developing. The odds are really against someone in my position. Imo buprenorphine has no business beside the word methadone. Thats causing stigma. The two drugs are entirely different. Why can't I have 8 mg of buprenorphine everyday for the rest of my life? I am not abusing it. I will be under a doctors care. Why can't I have the medicine thats keeps me from being sick from my disease just like people on thyroid medicine for their disease? What's the difference? I can't help that other people are shooting buprenorphrine into their veins or that it is still sold on the streets. Some people are also