It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 4:39 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi. Bit of a random one, but basically I am considering signing up for a clinical trial that involves being dosed with buprenorphine and narolex. The trial involves receiving 100mg of narolex the day before dosing, which is an IV dose of buprenorphine, and then 50 mg of narolex for the best 3 days. I don't actually know the exact dose of buprenorphine atm (I will find out soon) so I guess this could make my question a bit difficult to answer, but basically I was wondering what level of side effects to expect from this? Obviously I know the narolex is designed to block the action of opoids, but should I still expect significant side effects from buprenorphine, ie nausea, as well as perhaps from the narolex itself? I have never used opoids before, so will have no form of tolerance. Also I understand this drugs are not to be messed around, am I only considering signing up because I am in a slightly desperate situation financially.
Thanks very much.

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 5:34 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Naloxone? Unsure if you're misspelling a word or if that 'narolox' is something I just never heard of.
I'm thinking the latter...

I wouldn't sign up for anything if I had no tolerance at all to any sort of opioids. Sounds like just asking for trouble...

Seems like the criteria for a clinical would call for currently active opiate tolerance/dependence.

RIP little brother. Gone, but not forgotten.

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 10:01 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Sorry I meant to say nalorex (active ingredient naltrexone, an opioid antagonist)

Our Sponsors
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 10:52 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

That's interesting.

So they're giving you IV buprenorphine then IV naltrexone?