It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:21 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I literally just came from a mandatory MAT training given by a STATE agency on substance abuse, loaded with misinformation about Suboxone. For example, "you have to wait 12-24 hours to start Suboxone after taking a full agonist or the naloxone will cause precipitated withdrawal" and "Buprenorphine is a partial agonist because of the naloxone". Everything was about the naloxone & the trainer had no knowledge at all of buprenorphine itself. She even, stunningly, said that Suboxone should only be considered after all other treatment options are eliminated, including methadone and Vivitrol. What?
I'm looking around because I'm new to this organization and others there, including my bosses, have been in the MAT field for years. I'm waiting for someone to say something, which they didn't, so I started raising my hand & questioning some of her statements.
This is a person whose job it is to go to agencies all around the state giving this training, and it counts toward people's ceu's for their licenses. No wonder patients are confused. The so called experts are training professionals with misinformation that they then pass on to their clients. I'm super frustrated right now.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:47 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi Lilly,

Sounds almost like my psychiatrist attended one of those sessions. He too is abysmally ignorant, but he's an M.D. who calls himself an addiction psychiatrist! Has no idea about bupe's long half life and believes it's a full agonist. I've lost track of how many inaccurate statements he's made. I've become so skeptical , I tend to reject EVERYTHING he says out of hand, and once in a while he's right, so that's even more confusing.