It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:40 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Since I've been abusing narcotics for years, and on Sub for about 4 months, I am very familiar with the constipation issue. However, last week I sepnt 2 days in the hospital diagnosed with a narcotic ileus that the doctor was 100% positive was caused by the sub. Essentially, your colon becomes paralyzed, and well then it doesnt work and that can be painful, as well as a very dangerous problem. In all my research i had never heard of this. Anyone else ever had it?

It was also intersting that nobody in the ER knew about sub. They wanted to give me a narcotic pain killer, and I had to explain in great detail about the Narcan etc. I was surprised by this. But again, when the surgen looked at me and my cat scan, he knew right away what it was, how Sub caused it and how to treat it.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 11:47 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Yeah I was in the ER once and they had no idea what Suboxone was.. But then again there are 1000's of drugs.

How did they end up treating the condition? Did you have to terminate suboxone therapy or did they do something else?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 12:52 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

The condition isn't unique to buprenorphine/Suboxone-- all opiates cause an ileus, and it is a major reason for delayed discharge after surgery. So I'm a bit skeptical that a surgeon would be able to identify that it is from 'Suboxone'-- I would imagine that an ileus from Suboxone would be uncommon enough that a person could write up and publish a case report about it.