It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:16 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have read a lot about tapering today and would like to share something that I feel could be beneficial to people trying to get off suboxone dealing with RLS. I suffer with RLS horribly when not on suboxone and this is amplified when tapering. I read many posts of how people suffer RLS when cutting the dose and how some people think diet can help with the suffering while tapering. I find one rule to always be true not only for me but for my friends suffering RLS that I have shared this with also. I have had a few years experience with suboxone (only recently "officially" by prescriber) and find that when I am cutting my dose down (when I would be about to run out) an extremely low carbohydrate diet cuts the RLS almost completely out, key word almost. I am diabetic and have a semi-controlled diet. Im a carb addict also..lol. If I am tapering down and I do not stick with the meats and veggies, my RLS is amplified by 10. So, over time hearing my friends come to me saying that after meals or sweet binges the RLS flared while tapering and reading several people express the same here, I realized that it had to be the carbs. Very low-carb diet while tapering!!! I always have trouble sleeping when I cut my dose. Another trick I have come across is that taking one dose a day however much that may be, would be better taken 45 min. before sleeping to hush the RLS. Usually in the waking hours people find things that keep their minds and bodies busy. This makes the RLS less noticeable and easier to deal with. That changes once someone tries to find stillness, peace, and quiet. Everyone I have ever asked suffered more at bedtime w/RLS than in waking hours, suboxone users and not. Everyone is different and will taper differently. What works for me may not work for the next person. Normally I prefer to take two doses a da