It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:48 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello there,

I'm new to suboxone, but not recovery. I am 10+ years sober from alcohol, and after a very long evolution with pain meds of all different types for my lifetime of headaches, about 3.5 years ago I became addicted to tramadol. The irony here is it was given to me because they refused a refill of vicodin. Even more ironic, was I wasn't even abusing the vicodin. I guess you could call it a relapse, but it happened innocently out of seeking relief from chronic pain. In any case, I'm on suboxone now and it's helping. It even helps my headaches. Haven't had one since beginning the treatment. I've very grateful to have found it, actually.

What I would like to ask, is this...are there any people out there that work in a professional job and are going about their business day to day, and also being treated with suboxone? I'm struggling with feeling like I've completely failed. I'm ten years behind everyone else in corporate America (I was drunk through my 20s and didn't start college until 29), but on top of it all, now I'm the junkie in the office.

Although I am really benefitting from using the subs (wow, I'm starting to use the lingo too), I feel so alone with this secret. I'm sure there are all walks of life living with this treatment, but it would help my sense of isolation if someone had a story to share. I know I'm being hard on myself, but that's what these forums are about...support right?

J

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:50 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Welcome to the forum Haverj1!!

Congrats on your decision to take your life back!