It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 9:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:42 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi everyone,

First, many thanks to the creator, moderators and members on this forum.
After reading for a few days, I finally decided to register.

I've been using pain meds for 20+ years, at first for legit pain, and slowly to feel "my best normal self". At 1st, I'd take an extra dose to stay awake and focus, to enhance my mental performance for an exam in Grad school, right before teaching, in the evening to reward myself for having worked hard etc.
At the same time, I was diagnosed with clinical depression. After 3 years of remission, the depression returned with a vengeance, and slowly robbed me of my life. By now, I've tried all treatments, except for ECT (Electroshock Therapy): all classes of anti-depressants all the way to MAOIs, anti-anxiety meds, augmentation therapy, misc types of talk therapy, alternative medicines, neurofeedback therapy....

As I moved around the World, I adapted to whichever pain meds I could access more or less legally, which wasn't too hard given that I was prescribed my "regular" meds by psychiatrists (and some of those meds are controlled substances, so it was never much of a stretch to add "pain management" to the list).
So, of course, I never thought of myself as an addict, since I wasn't injecting, snorting, stealing etc, and wasn't buying the drugs on the street. More often than not I had a legit script, or used OTC pain meds. After all, I don't even enjoy feeling high, except for mild euphoria, I never abused my anxiety meds, or alcohol, or any substance which makes me feel "out of control" (except for experimenting in my teen years)..... but the facts are I'm an addict!

On July 12th 2017, my drug of choice, Codeine, stopped being OTC overnight in France.