It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: After the detox- PAWS
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:04 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

Hello Everyone-

This is my first time starting a post and would like to first of all say thanks to all on this forum who have helped me in my recovery.

I was a pain patient for 10 years using a variety of different opiates including morphine, oxys, hydros etc until at the end was taking 20 pills a day. I made up my mind to quit all on Jan. 1 and started tapering. About 2 months in I hit a wall and went to a recovery center to get help. Instead of helping with detox the doctor started me on 12 mg of sub. It took me a while to figure out what was happening, a couple of weeks or so. I started tapering at that point and 5-6 weeks later jumped at 1 mg.

The detox without going into specifics was horrific and lasted the better part of a month. This brings me to the next phase- How many who have detoxed have struggled with getting the brain back going again. About 7 days ago I was hit with the deepest darkest depression I have ever experienced and my brain has been in a major fog up until the last couple of days. The memory sucks to the point I tell folks I talk to on the phone that I won't remember our conversation five minutes after we hang up. I am curious if any of you have experienced this as well. I have been clean 57 days. By the way the last couple of days have been great and I think I am finally leaving it behind. God bless and thanks for your posts.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:18 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hey rockblaster,

While I never did get hit with severe depression during my acute or PAWS, I certainly felt like crap for a good while.

It does take time for the brain to "right" itself after being slammed with opiates for so long, some people get over it fairly quickly while others have a much harder time of it.