It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:52 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I am new to suboxone. Last night I took my first dose. I took my last dose of suboxone about 7 hours ago, and I am about to use(smoke heroin). What will happen? How long should I wait before taking my next dose of suboxone. No talking me out of it just please be honest. Thank You.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 12:46 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

When I first read your post I did a double take. I guess I just didn't believe what I had read. I am going to take you on complete 100% face value here though.

First and foremost, from what I know about Suboxone, the heroin is not going to do much of anything for you. The problem is that Suboxone may not do a very good job of getting you high. Heroin will kick Sub's butt in that one. However, Suboxone is going to be the hands-down winner in the fight to hit your opiate receptors. Sub is very likely sitting on and clogging them all up right now and will in effect block heroin from doing much of anything for you. I am very certain of this.

You are going to do what you are going to do. But I do have to wonder what's the point of even being on the Suboxone if you are going to use anyhow? Is that not the entire reason for the Suboxone? To help you to stop using? Perhaps you are not on the correct Sub dose. If you just started the Subs, it's also very likely that you have not been on it long enough. Do you have a sponsor or someone else that you can call or contact? If you have read any of the other posts here you will see all sorts of previous heroin addicts with huge problem histories that have been very successful on Suboxone. This medication will work if you both give it a chance to work and get yourself regulated to the proper dose.