It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 5:43 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I decided I want to get off suboxone for good. I have been on a huge dose of 32 mg for about 8 months so I met with a new Dr., he is an addictionoligist and works in a lot of the west coast rehabs and does this a lot. Our first appt. on June 21 he cut my dose in halfto 16mg. immediatetelly and the following week did it again. So in 2 weeks I have gone from 32mg per day to 8mg. per day. I have no energy to do anything. I just sit around the house. I also feel horrible I have tried Ativan but that only helps a little. Anythoughts? Too much too fast? I see him on the 7th amd am terrified he will cut me back further.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:24 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi There:

I'm not a doctor, but based on my own personal experience that is a ridiculously fast and precipitous taper. You've cut your dose in half in two weeks. It should not come as any surprise whatsoever that you don't feel good as a result.

I'm sorry that you are feeling bad, but in my personal, non-professional opinion, that reduction in dose is way, way, way, way, way, way too fast.

And I have a feeling that I am not the only one reading this who thinks that.

Are you planning on cutting it down to 8mg over the next two weeks? Because I suspect you're in for a very rough ride if that's the plan.

I'd really suggest putting the brakes on for a few weeks and slowing way down on the reduction. Getting off suboxone comfortably, especially from the dose you were on will take some time.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:53 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member